Psychology Class Activity Schedule



    Mon, April 8- Welcome, Syllabus, Connectors, Website/article reviews, film list, questionnaires, "Getting to Know You"

    Tues, April 9 - What is Psychology?; Hindsight Bias; Aphorisms; Timelines

    Weds, April 10 - discuss Individualism vs. Collectivism; present Timelines

    Thurs, April 11 - discuss "Relativity of Wrong"; finish timelines; Contemporary Perspectives jigsaw; Elephant story

    Fri, April 12 - Mind Reading demo; start "Secrets of the Psychics"



    Mon, April 15 - finish "Secrets of the Psychics"; Kinds of Parapsychology ppt; parapsychology cartoons; parapsychology activities

    Tues, April 16 - Unit One Test

    Weds, April 17 - (MCA Testing)

    Thurs, April 18 - Methods Psychologists Use: Testing, Case Study

    Fri, April 19 - (Snow Day)



    Mon, April 22 - Methods Psychologists Use: Longitudinal/Cross-Sectional, Naturalistic/Laboratory Observation, Survey

    Tues, April 23 - Correlation; Experimentation

    Weds, April 24 - Ethics

    Thurs, April 25 - Unit 2 Test

    Fri, April 26 - Heredity/Genetics



    Mon, April 29 - discussion on implications of genetic awareness, "Human Animal: Nature v. Nurture"

    Tues, April 30 - discuss articles; David Reimer story

    Weds, May 1 - Birth Order

    Thurs, May 2 - discuss twins article; twins separated at birth video; similarities activity; Kiersey Personality Sorter

    Fri, May 3 - maturation notes; Secrets of the Wild Child



    Mon, May 6 - nervous system notes; types of neurons; brain project assignment

    Tues, May 7 - "Awakenings"

    Weds, May 8 - finish "Awakenings"

    Thurs, May 9 - Brain Hemispheres

    Fri, May 10 - Phineas Gage; Mapping the Brain; Random Brain Facts



    Mon, May 13 - Biology & Behavior Unit Test; mental mazes

    Tues, May 14 - intro to learning; Classical Conditioning

    Weds, May 15 - intro to Operant Conditioning; "paper clip learning" activity; Discovering Psych: Learning

    Thurs, May 16 - Operant Conditioning & Reinforcement Schedules; Punishment

    Fri, May 17 - SIBIS; Observational Learning; Insight; Latent Learning; Learned Helplessness



    Mon, May 20 - Memory

    Tues, May 21 - Learning & Memory Unit Test; intro to Disorders Unit

    Weds, May 22 - Dissociative Disorders

    Thurs, May 23 - "3 Faces of Eve"

    Fri, May 24 - finish "3 Faces"; "The Real Eve"; Somatoform Disorders



    Mon, May 27 - (No School)

    Tues, May 28 - Anxiety Disorders

    Weds, May 29 - Mood Disorders

    Thurs, May 30 - Schizophrenia; Personality Disorders

    Fri, May 31 - small group clinicals; Therapy



    Mon, June 3 - continue Therapy

    Tues, June 4 - finish Therapy

    Weds, June 5 - (Exam Day #1) - Disorders & Therapy Unit Test

    Thurs, June 6 - (Exam Day #2) - no class

    (End of Quarter 4 - Enjoy your summer vacation!)